Koala News

For up to date Koalas news please visit the FACEBOOK PAGE


The NWS Koalas is the only Womens only club fielding teams from under 13s through to Seniors in the Elite NSW Premier League.

The NWS Koalas came into being as Gladesville-Hornsby Koalas in 1999. We were admitted to the State League competition, which was the second tier level. It was just a Senior squad competition with first and reserve grade. In the first year we came 7th (out of 8). The following year we came second and gained promotion to the then Super League in 2001. We were renamed NWS Koalas in the same year. In 2002 we were joined by the 16s and 14s and then 12s the following year. We have won the club championship three times over the last five years and have won numerous junior comps. We have finished second in first grade three times.

As the only Women’s only association football club in Sydney fielding teams in the Premier League. Our mission is:

To foster and develop the game of Association Football in the North Western Districts of Sydney by organising competitions for junior and senior teams.

To foster and support the development of North West Sydney Women’s Soccer Incorporated in competitions conducted by the appropriate State body.

To do all such other things as are incident or conducive to attainment of the objects of the Association.

Over the years the Koalas have achieved Elite level representation.
Junior development is led by former Matilda, Leigh Wardell and since its establishment in 1999, the club has provided many players for both New South Wales and the W-League with players such as Ellyse Perry, Jessica Seaman, Sharni Brown, Rachel Doyle, Alisha Bass and Joanne Burgess representing Australia.


Women’s Premier League is the top tier of women’s Football in the NSW. The competition consists of 12 teams competing in U/13, U/15, U/17, Reserves, and 1st grade in a round-robin structure where each side plays one another three times; upon completion a Premier is crowned.The top four sides by the end of the season compete in the Championship Series. The teams are seeded upon their entry into the Championship Series according to their final position on the ladder. There is a major semi final and a minor semi final. The winner of the major semi final will go into the grand final. The winner of the minor semi final will play the loser of the major semi final in the preliminary final. The winner of the preliminary final will go into the grand final. The grand final winner will be crowned championship winners.